The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA

Eight Appointments to the DRI Board

05 July 2017

The new Board of the Digital Repository of Ireland has been announced

We are very pleased to announce eight appointments to the DRI Board. The appointments follow a call for nominations that was open to all DRI Members. Appointees were ratified by the Executive Committee of the Royal Irish Academy, and serve 3-year terms. DRI Director, Dr. Natalie Harrower, said:

"I would like to thank everyone who nominated themselves to the DRI Board. The field of candidates was absolutely excellent, and we are grateful for the time and effort individuals put into their nominations. The nominations process highlighted the talented and growing community in Ireland that collectively supports the advancement of digital archiving, digital preservation, and open access, and points to a bright future for research and cultural heritage collections across various sectors. I would also like to formally thank those who served on DRI's Founding Board - the Management Board that guided DRI through its first 5 years as a PRTLI Cycle 5 consortium project. Their guidance and support has helped DRI to achieve its new status as a long-term, core-funded, trusted digital repository."

The eight appointees are (in alphabetical order):

  • Peter Brown, Irish Research Council
  • Sandra Collins, National Library of Ireland
  • Michael Peter Kennedy, Royal Irish Academy
  • Rob Kitchin, Maynooth University
  • Muirne Laffan, RTÉ Digital
  • John McDonough, National Archives of Ireland
  • Orla Murphy, University College Cork
  • Jane Ohlmeyer, Trinity College Dublin

The CEO of the Royal Irish Academy, Laura Mahoney, and the Director of DRI, Natalie Harrower, are members of the Board ex-officio. The Digital Repository of Ireland looks forward to working with its new Board.

Stay up to date with the Royal Irish Academy newsletter

Sign up now