The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA

Call for entries: Kathleen Lonsdale Chemistry Prize 2024

05 January 2024

The deadline for applications for the 2024 Kathleen Lonsdale Chemistry Prize has been extended to Friday 12 January at 17:00. The prize is open to researchers who completed a chemistry PhD in Ireland in 2023.

The prize will be given for the most outstanding Irish PhD thesis in the general area of the chemical sciences as described in a 1,000-word essay. The prize, kindly sponsored by Henkel, includes an award of €2,000. The winner will also be nominated by the Physical, Chemical and Mathematical Sciences Committee to go forward for the IUPAC-SOLVAY International Award for Young Chemists.

All documentation (in PDF format) should be emailed to with the subject line: Kathleen Lonsdale Chemistry Prize by 17.00 on Friday, 12 January 2024.


  • One must have received their PhD degree or completed all PhD requirements from a University or Technological University in the Republic of Ireland or Northern Ireland, including a successful defence of the doctoral thesis during the calendar year 2023.
  • The research described in the entrant’s thesis must be in the field of the chemical sciences, defined as “chemistry and those disciplines and technologies that make significant use of chemistry.”

How to apply

  • Submit a 1,000-word essay (maximum, but figures are permitted) describing the thesis work and placing it in perspective relative to current research in the chemical sciences.
  • Supply a listing of all published material arising from the PhD research performed.
  • Provide two supporting letters, one from the thesis adviser and one additional faculty member who is familiar with the applicant’s thesis work. These letters should comment on the qualifications, contribution to publications and accomplishments of the applicant and the significance of the thesis work.

Data Protection: Before submitting your application, please read the Kathleen Lonsdale Prize Transparency Statement 

In 2023, the Kathleen Lonsdale Prize was awarded to Dr Chunchun Li, Queen’s University Belfast, for her research into understanding and controlling the surface properties of nanomaterials, you can watch the award ceremony below

Stay up to date with the Royal Irish Academy newsletter

Sign up now