The Royal Irish Academy/Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann champions research. We identify and recognise Ireland’s world class researchers. We support scholarship and promote awareness of how science and the humanities enrich our lives and benefit society. We believe that good research needs to be promoted, sustained and communicated. The Academy is run by a Council of its members. Membership is by election and considered the highest academic honour in Ireland.

Read more about the RIA


  • Stephen George Mayhew

    BSc, PhD(Sheff) Emeritus Professor of Biochemistry, UCD Member, Science 2000
  • James Carthew Carden Mays

    BA, MA, DPhil(Oxon 1960, 1962, 1966) Retired Professor of English Literature, UCD Member, PL&A 2001
  • William J Mc Cormack

    Independent Scholar, BA, MA, DPhil Member, PL&A 2016
  • Mary McAleese

    LLB(QUB), MA(Dubl), Dip. Inst. Of Linguists(London), BL(Court of Northern Ireland), BL(King's Inns Dublin),Hon Doctorate of Humane Letters (Rochester Institute of Technology, New York State), LLD (hc from 16 Universities) Former President of Ireland. Member, PL&A 1998
  • Patrick McArdle

    BSc, PhD, DSc(NUI) Associate Professor of Chemistry, NUIG Member, Science 1998
  • Brian Philip McBreen

    PhD(NUI) Emeritus Professor, UCD Member, Science 1989
  • Vincent Joseph McBrierty

    BSc(QUB 1962), PhD(Lond 1965), ScD(Dubl 1979). FTCD(Emeritus) Retired Professor of Polymer Physics, TCD Member, Science 1983
  • Malachy McCann

    BSc(UU 1977), PhD(QUB 1980) Senior Lecturer in Chemistry, Maynooth Member, Science 2010
  • John Vincent McCanny

    BSc(1973), PhD(UU 1978), DSc(QUB 1998). Kt, CBE, FRS Director Institute of Electronics Communications and Information Technology, QUB Member, Science 2000
  • Carmel McCarthy

    BA, MA(NUI 1966, 1968) STL, STD(Fribourg 1972,1980) Emerita Professor of Hebrew and Syriac, UCD Member, PL&A 2008
  • Daniel P. McCarthy

    BE(Western Australia), MA, PhD(Dubl). FTCD(Emeritus) Retired Lecturer Member, PL&A 2012
  • John McCloskey

    BSc, PGCD, PhD. Chair in Natural Hazards Science, Edinburgh Member, Science 2012
  • David John McConnell

    BA, PhD(CalTech). Member of EMBO, FZSI Fellow Emeritus, TCD Member, Science 1984
  • John Christopher McCrudden

    LLB(QUB 1974), LLM(Yale 1975), MA(Oxon 1980), DPhil(Oxon 1981), DCL(Oxon 2017), LLD(hc), FBA. CBE Professor of Human Rights and Equality Law, QUB Member, PL&A 2018
  • William Alan McCutcheon

    MA, PhD(QUB 1958, 1962). FSA Industrial Archaeologist, Historian (industry, technology, engineering, transport), Archivist and Author. Former Director Ulster Museum, Belfast and Hon. Senior Research Fellow, QUB Member, PL&A 1983
  • Frank McDermott

    N.C.E.A. Diploma (AIT) 1981, PhD (Open University) 1987 University Lecturer, UCD Member, Science 2020
  • Marianne McDonald

    BA(Bryn Mawr), MA(Chicago), PhD(Calif), DLitt(hc Athens 1994, NUI 1994, Thessaloniki 1997, Dubl 2001) Distinguished Professor Overscale, University of San Diego Member, PL&A 1993
  • Anthony Patrick McElligott

    BA(Essex 1981), PhD(Manchester 1991) Professor of History, UL Member, PL&A 2015
  • Michael Brendan McElroy

    BA (QUB 1960), AM, PhD, DSc (hc QUB). Gilbert Butler Professor of Environmental Sciences, Harvard University Honorary Member, Science 2009
  • Jennifer Claire McElwain

    BA(Dubl 1993), PhD(London 1997). Professor Earth Institute, School of Biology and Environmental Science, TCD Member, Science 2017
  • Kieran Patrick McEvoy

    LLB(QUB 1989), MSc(Edinburgh 1991), PhD(QUB 2000) Professor of Law and Transitional Justice, QUB Member, PL&A 2019
  • Fearghal Patrick McGarry

    PhD(Dubl 1998), BA(NUI 1992) Professor of Modern Irish History, QUB Member, PL&A 2019
  • John Finlay McGilp

    MA(Dubl, Oxon), PhD(Liv). CPhys, FInstP, Emeritus Fellow, TCD. Treasurer Former Professor of Surface and Interface Optics, TCD Member, Science 2003
  • Brian C McGing

    BA(Dubl, 1974), MA, PhD(University of Toronto, 1976, 1981). FTCD Regius Professor of Greek, TCD. Member, PL&A 2004
  • Michael James McGlinchey

    BSc, PhD(Manc 1965,1968) Professor of Inorganic Chemistry, UCD Member, Science 2008


Support the future of sciences & humanities in Ireland

Make a donation